Author Topic: Am I out of line to complain?  (Read 13228 times)

HForrest

• friend
Am I out of line to complain?
« on: December 13, 2011, 12:50:52 AM »
I'm a college student, and I've been living in this apartment for about a year. Some background: I'm a complete slob (in a long and arduous process of reform), and my apartment looks like a pigsty. I clean it every once in a while, then let it degrade into absolute chaos before I'm forced to embark on another cleaning frenzy. I always tidy up if I'm expecting company, which as it turns out, is pretty infrequently.

In the apartment lease, there is a provision allowing for the entry of the property management company into the apartment with 24 hours notice. Obviously this is a reasonable clause for emergency maintenance or other unforeseen issues that require attention, and in signing the lease, I envisioned that 24 hours would be a minimum time frame.

Rewind to several months ago:

A notice is taped to my door, stating that the owner wants to have his property appraised, and that they will be entering my apartment between 8:00 AM and 4:00 PM the next day. I was a little bit perturbed by this, but I assumed there was a good reason it was happening on such short notice-- maybe circumstantial scheduling difficulties, some deadline, or other issue that I was not aware of. So I didn't say anything, cleaned my apartment, and they came in the next day to walk around inside for a few minutes (at some point within that day-long window).

Then, a couple months back, the owner wanted to have the doors revarnished. So notices were posted on our doors in the same manner, but this time, we were given a week's notice. The fact that we were notified a week in advance led me to believe I was correct in my assessment of the previous entry; that it was some unforeseen schedule conflict with the property appraiser or a last-minute thing that was a one time deal (and something they would generally try to avoid).