Author Topic: ASVAB  (Read 2181 times)

jefnvk

• friend
  • I'll sleep away the days and ride the nights...
ASVAB
« on: July 10, 2005, 03:06:56 PM »
OK, I am a college student going into my Sophomore year.  I decided I want to take the ASVAB, just to see how I would do on it.  From what I understand, military is completely out of the question for me, as I am diabetic.  Does anyone know if I can take the test, not being eligible for the military, and if I can take it being out of high school?  Also, where would I look to get signed up for it?  Their site doesn't mention testing areas or dates, would I have to go talk to a recruiter?
I still say 'Give Detroit to Canada'

grislyatoms

• friends
ASVAB
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2005, 03:29:35 PM »
As I recall, the Virginia Dept. of Labor offered testing for the ASVAB at one point. Maybe call your Dept. of Labor? They gave me a battery of all kinds of tests when I went for job counseling.

(I may be mixing this up with when I went to the recruiter to get in the Navy. Quite a few years ago.)

Worth a shot, maybe.
"A son of the sea, am I" Gordon Lightfoot

TarpleyG

• friend
ASVAB
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2005, 03:55:08 PM »
I had mine set up through the recruiter and had disclosed any medical conditions beforehand.  That was in '87 so I am not sure what it's like now.

Greg

Ukraine Train

• friend
    • http://ukrainetrain21.tripod.com
ASVAB
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2005, 04:29:00 AM »
Seemed like when I was in high school (4 years ago), all my friends that took the ASVAB scored 95%+... It's almost like they score everyone high just to reel them in lol. Or maybe my friends are all smart.

jefnvk

• friend
ASVAB
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2005, 09:17:26 AM »
Therein lies one of the reasons I want to take it.  I know a few people that got in the 30's range, and want to see how I would compare to them (i.e., is the test that hard, or are they just not the brightest)

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical
ASVAB