Author Topic: Job interview advice, please  (Read 3304 times)

Headless Thompson Gunner

• friend
Job interview advice, please
« on: February 20, 2007, 03:43:37 PM »
A few weeks ago I found a job position that I would love to have at a company I would love to work for.  I've been trying to make that job mine ever since.  I've managed to make my way through their first line of defenses and things are starting to get serious.  They want to do a phone interview with me tomorrow afternoon, and if I can impress them with that they'll bring me out to Washington for a formal interview.

Any suggestions or advice on how to handle a phone interview?  I've never done a phone interview before, and I really want to nail it. 

Sindawe

• friend
  • Vashneesht
Re: Job interview advice, please
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 03:56:51 PM »
Well, what ever you do, DO NOT tell them about the time you and a buddy trapped some dude in an elevator and beat him bloody and unconscious.

We actually had some bozo relate that story to us back when I worked in the sciences.  Seeing as the crew already had a "loose cannon" on staff, the interviewe was not asked to join us.

I've never done such (phone interviews), but I don't think it would hurt to be in a quite environment, turn off all cell phones, pagers and call waiting.  Having copies of your resume on hand (identical to what you sent 'em) would be good as well.
I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do.

Fly320s

• friend
  • Formerly, Arthur, King of the Britons
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2007, 03:57:54 PM »
Yes,

Dress yourself for the interview, even though you are doing it over the phone.  If the interview calls for a suit, wear one.  How seriously you take yourself/the job will be transmitted over the phone.