Author Topic: good shtf book bundle  (Read 4725 times)

ilbob

• friend
    • Bob's blog
good shtf book bundle
« on: October 24, 2008, 10:12:05 AM »
http://www.webscription.net/p-930-the-pournelle-continuum.aspx

Footfall and Lucifer's Hammer are both good SHTF and good SciFi.

Part of an eleven e-book Pournelle bundle for $20. Can't get much of a better deal than that. And no DRM!
bob

Disclaimers: I am not a lawyer, cop, soldier, gunsmith, politician, plumber, electrician, or a professional practitioner of many of the other things I comment on in this forum.

Manedwolf

• friend
Re: good shtf book bundle
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2008, 10:26:07 AM »
I thought the latter was silly. CA would be the FIRST place destroyed in a global upheaval due to the tectonic instabilities...not the only place surviving!

But then, Niven lived there, so he was projecting in his work. He also had it be the only place surviving a solar flare in Inconstant Moon. It got a bit ridiculous.

AJ Dual

• friends
  • Shoe Ballistics Inc.
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2008, 11:07:20 AM »
It made a certian amount of sense.

CA is one of the few places in the continental US where large urban areas have quick acces to higher elivations/wilderness. Especially back in the 60's/70's when there was a more "western: land-useage pattern.

The Appalacian mountains are smaller, and on the "older end" of the U.S. with greater distributed population etc. And the San Joaquin valley is protected and largely surrounded by mountains on all sides.

I understand the criticisims of the location/setting, but it's not one that completely insults the reader's intelligence either.