Author Topic: Need CB radio help  (Read 3282 times)

mtnbkr

• friend
Need CB radio help
« on: April 23, 2005, 05:43:02 PM »
I was 4wheeling with a friend and found out my CB radio isn't working properly.  I can receive fine and my SWR runs from 1.4:1 on Channel 1 all the way down to 1.05:1 on Channel 40.  However, he can't hear me at all, even from 10ft away.  If he does hear me, I was coming through in a very broken up manner with lots of static.  

I'm using an old Realistic (Radio Shack brand) radio with a 4' Wilson whip antenna and quality cable.  I have a 90degree adaptor at the radio to clear the firewall (radio's in dash).  The radio is secondhand and  probably 10 years old or older.  My guess is the mike, but I want a second opinion before I replace anything.

Chris

P95Carry

Need CB radio help
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2005, 07:03:53 PM »
Chris - mic would to me seem first to blame.  SWR is no prob and your whip sounds like a good one... not sure - but does that one have base loading coil?  No biggie that anyways.

10 feet away - sheesh - his set up should be cookin even with std 4W power fromn you... are you using a burner?  Does he register you even as just a carrier on his S meter tho - that should tell something?

Whatever - check the plug on mic - in case one wire has fatigued - it happened to me.  The ''static'' type noise can IIRC seem excessive if the mic effectively has an open ground thru a failed wire.

Other option - your Tx power tranny may have gone down - happened to me on an old Midland long ago.  Buddy's S meter should tell that one.  If you are radiating then it's perhaps back to mic prob.

Just thinkin' aloud.  Long time since I used my CB gear. Smiley
Chris - P95
Guns don't kill people - people kill people.
NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.
Rohrbaugh interest/ownership? - Rohrbaugh Forum Rohrbaugh R9 FAQ Site

Sergeant Bob

• friend
Need CB radio help
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2005, 01:27:22 AM »