Author Topic: What are your kids majoring in?  (Read 4580 times)

Nathaniel Firethorn

• friend
  • Extra Thorny
What are your kids majoring in?
« on: December 01, 2005, 04:09:39 AM »
Hi, all,

As I approach another decade mark, I'm pondering my career options. I'm in a field that is getting offshored to Cheapistan in a hurry (software development) and will probably have to make a transition at some point. So I was wondering what the yunguns are studying.

What degrees are your kids (or you, or other friends/family/acquaintances) taking?

Thanks,
- NF.
Give up no state. Give up no ground.

http://www.njcsd.org

charby

• Necromancer
  • Administrator
  • APS's Resident Sikh/Muslim
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2005, 04:39:32 AM »
no kids, still practicing

I am a part time nursing student, working towards an associates in nursing. I currently work in the IT field and when I get my RN I will make approx the same as I do right now but will have better raises and more flexibilty in where I can work. I'm doing for a career change and also to move a more remote part of Iowa that doesn't have a whole lot jobs.

Charby
Iowa- 88% more livable that the rest of the US

Uranus is a gas giant.

Team 444: Member# 536

Phantom Warrior

• friend
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2005, 04:54:44 AM »
I just got a B.S. in Math and a B.S. in Computer Science.  Of course I joined the Army, so that's not really a comment on the job market.  My sister is graduating this year w/ a Bachelor's in Elementary Education (emphasis in math).  My best friend is in a two-year law enforcement program.  My two friends are in the Psychology and the Nursing program at UND.  My cousin is in the Chem E program.  One of my other cousin is in Packaging Sciences.

There are going to be people in everything.  I know there is a good market for nursing/medical stuff.  A girl I used to work with graduated from a two-year radiological tech program and started at 50K in Fargo, ND.

bratch

• friend