Author Topic: Alternate Stocks for an 870?  (Read 2332 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
Alternate Stocks for an 870?
« on: March 29, 2012, 04:38:07 PM »
I let Amy shoot my 870 this morning and she didn't like it because the pull is too long on the "stock' stock. She seemed to handle the 12 gauge loads fine. This is the mainstream sporting goods store 18" "home defense" version of the 870 with the black plastic stocks.

Any recommendations for an alternate stock? I'd consider a good quality adjustable one to keep from getting another shotgun, though I really do want an M4. :)
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

41magsnub

• friend
  • Don't make me assume my ultimate form!
Re: Alternate Stocks for an 870?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2012, 05:34:32 PM »
I have no personal experience, but have had people say the M4orgery conversion stocks for an 870 are decent.  That has a pistol grip though.  You could do a youth stock or get a wood adult one and cut it down.

SADShooter

• friend
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2012, 05:35:22 PM »
Blackhawk/Knoxx collapsible, or Speedfeed makes a short LOP stock.
"Ah, is there any wine so sweet and intoxicating as the tears of a hippie?"-Tamara, View From the Porch

Angel Eyes

• Lying dog-faced pony soldier
  • friend
  • You're not diggin'
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2012, 05:40:44 PM »
I've got a Knoxx on my Winchester 1300.  It looks kinda like an M4 buttstock.  Adjustable LOP and good recoil reduction.  I believe a certain member here sells them.  ;)
""If you elect me, your taxes are going to be raised, not cut."
                         - master strategist Joe Biden

Jamisjockey

• Booze-fueled paragon of pointless cruelty and wanton sadism
  • friend
  • Your mom sends me care packages
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2012, 05:53:27 PM »
I'm short, with short arms.  I went with an M4 style stock for my mossberg.
JD