Author Topic: Money troubles  (Read 2410 times)

Chris

Money troubles
« on: October 23, 2006, 05:46:07 AM »
Folks, do any of you have any experiences with or knowledge of the the consumer debt consolidation services?  My brother has gotten himself in over his head and, unfortunately, I'm just a criminal lawyer who knows very little of the debtor/credtor laws.  he has high credit card balances, a house payment, child care costs, and the normal bills from life.  he's getting to the point where it's getting hard to pay the bills, and he's borrowing money from family.  I've done what I can, but I have my own budget to live within, as hard as that can be sometimes.

He's in a situation where he needs to use credit cards to put food on teh table, but then has to turn around and pay a higher bill to the credit company next month, which makes him more dependent on the cards to live on.  I've seen adds for the comsumer credit services and such, but don't know enough to warn him about the negative aspects.  He looks to me as the big brother for help, and I don't know what to tell him.  he mentioned bankruptcy, but that has so many pitfalls involved that I don't want to see him go down that road if at all possible.  On their faces, some of the debt conslidation/consumer credit counseling services seem like a good option, but I don't want to sell him down that road if there some pitfall I don't know of.  It's getting pretty bad.  He sold off all but his Taurus .357, and we're considering selling off Ping golf clubs ( a gift from out granfather), and some family heirloom guns, including a 4 digit serial number Marlin Model 39, to try and make some money.

All advice appreciated, whether on these options, or any financial advice.

richyoung

• friend
  • bring a big gun
Money troubles
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2006, 06:14:42 AM »