Author Topic: Telephone wiring  (Read 12550 times)

zxcvbob

• friend
Telephone wiring
« on: March 01, 2010, 11:42:06 AM »
Anyone here used an impact punchdown tool to wire telephone cable connection blocks?  Are the punch blades interchangeable from one brand to another?  I'm thinking about getting a Tripp·Lite brand tool (cheapest brand name tool I can find, $25 at Amazon) that comes with one 66-type blade and one 110-type blade, but they don't list any replacement parts.  Just wondering if Paladin or Ideal or Greenlee (etc) punch blades will fit.

I've never done this before, but I've been volunteered to rewire the church for telephone and DSL.  [popcorn]  I'm planning to use a 66 block for distributing the phone lines, but all the phone jacks and Ethernet jacks have 110 termination, so I need a tool that will do both.  At least it's just 1 line (I'm gonna run both pairs anyway) and the everything can be run above the basement drop ceiling.

Thanks.
"It's good, though..."

JonnyB

• friend
Re: Telephone wiring
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2010, 12:08:40 PM »
I have both Premier and Harris; the bits for those are interchangeable. Dunno 'bout the other brands.

jb
Jon has a long mustache. No, really; he does. Look at that thing!

RoadKingLarry

• friends
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2010, 04:16:45 PM »
I do it for a living, buy the best tool you can afford and that you can get replacement tips for. Some of the stuff out there is a bad joke at best. Harris is decent stuff.
If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or your arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.

Samuel Adams

sanglant

• friend
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2010, 04:26:40 PM »