Author Topic: Home Theatre Systems  (Read 1456 times)

TarpleyG

• friend
Home Theatre Systems
« on: October 09, 2005, 02:44:27 PM »
We are planning on buying a new, bigger house next year and we'll have some $$$ left over from the sale of our current home to have a big downpayment, new furniture, and new electronics.  I have an older Bose Lifestyle system now and it's great for the room it's in.  I am planning on going bigger and better.  I am considering either a DLP TV up to 60" or a ceiling mounted projector.  I sort of know the limitations of each.  I am not interested in plasma but maybe LCD but it's probably too expensive.  As for sound, I am looking at the Klipsch THX Ultra2 series (not the upper end mind you) or something else comparable.  Anyway, I am just getting started researching this and I am looking for suggestions.

Greg

grampster

• friend
Home Theatre Systems
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2005, 03:20:50 PM »
If you're interested, e mail me or PM me at THR, and I give you my son's e mail address.  He has a web site and is expert in the purchase and installation of the type of stuff you are interested in.  He's here in Michigan, but might be able to give you some direction and or ability to purchase what you need at a good price.
"Never wrestle with a pig.  You get dirty, and besides, the pig likes it."  G.B. Shaw

cfabe

• friend
Home Theatre Systems
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2005, 03:26:28 PM »
In my home theater I use a older big CRT projector, but I assume you'd be looking at the newer small digital projectors. I'd definately go this way instead of a rear-projection TV, bigger picture and better quality. I use a HTPC (home theater PC) to as a dvd player and also have an HD directv system.