Author Topic: Spread sheet help please.  (Read 959 times)

RoadKingLarry

• friends
Spread sheet help please.
« on: March 26, 2015, 08:25:57 AM »
I'm looking for a little help on an OpenOffice spreadsheet.
I'm self taught on Excel and I keep stuff pretty simple most of the time. I'm using OpenOffice and I'm not able to duplicate what I can do with Excel at work.
And, I'm not really able to make excel do exactly what I want. I only have Open Office at home where this will be played with.

This is just an self imposed exercise I'm playing with, no real need but I kind of like playing with this stuff and I'm thinking I just don't know enough to make it work.

Here is the problem:

Working with elapsed times -  hh:mm:ss.
Excel wants to make it a date/time format and OpenOffice wants to use hh:mm.ss (tenths of seconds)

The formula I want to apply is for corrected time for handicapped sailboat racing - CT=(ET*100)/HC where CT and ET are in hh:mm:ss format and HC is the handicap ie: 89.1.
My issue is getting OpenOffice to play with time in the hh:mm:ss format
I want to be able to show CT and also be able to show +/- differences in times between different laps and also between different boats.
Not really looking for anything other than a nudge in the right direction here.
If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or your arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.

Samuel Adams

Doggy Daddy

• Poobah
  • friend
  • From the saner side of Las Vegas
Re: Spread sheet help please.
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2015, 03:50:23 PM »
Are you able to enter [h]:mm:ss as a custom number format?  Yes, with the brackets around the hours.
Would you exchange
a walk-on part in a war
for a lead role in a cage?
-P.F.

Brad Johnson

• friend