Author Topic: Job woes  (Read 1190 times)

client32

• friend
Job woes
« on: July 26, 2006, 02:48:03 AM »
Seems to be a recuring topic around here.

I got a call back from a job that I applied for a while back.  The process is going through a recruiter.  I need to write an executive summary to present to a manager, then if all goes well the employer.  I haven't ever done this.  Anyone out there with some tips?

I am in the IT field, and am treating this like a cover letter.  Highlight recent education, job skills that match the description as well as the fact that I have worked in the same industry before.  Lastly, I have the paragraph about what a great person I am, you know, hard working and all that.

I don't guess I am in desperate need for this job, but I would still like some help.

Also, the last interview I had, I ran into a question I hadn't heard before.  I was asked about working in diffucult situations (bad boss, coworkers, etc) and I have some very good experience with this.  My problem was I didn't know how to answer.  I didn't think saying the jerk who used to be boss was trying to get me fired, but failed, now, he no longer works with the company was the way to go.  The reason I got the question was because they had a difficult employee that the new person would be working with.  While I don't know how professional it is to bring this up in an interview, I appriciated it.
Admit nothing, deny everything, make counter-accusations - APS homepage 3/4/05 - 5/20/05

Never ask a man where he is from. If he is from Texas he will tell you. If he isn't there's no need to embarass him.

Felonious Monk/Fignozzle

Job woes
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2006, 07:42:37 AM »
client32,  

Best wishes on this.  What they're asking for in the 'under duress' question is 'tell me about your problem-solving skills, and how you perform under pressure'.

These kinds of questions lend themselves really well to the STAR approach, something I use liberally in interviews.