Author Topic: DFW Job Search Help  (Read 642 times)

SADShooter

• friend
DFW Job Search Help
« on: July 20, 2007, 07:15:26 AM »
I haven't been around much, because I've been working an average of 60+ hours per week for the last 8 months. I recently received the first unsatisfactory performance appraisal of my 10+ year career, and notice of intent to demote me due to "failure to meet reasonable performance standards".

This is a result of management's unwillingness to admit putting too great a load on me, and in turn blaming me when failures/delays occur. Turnover in my office is insanely high. After 21 months, I am the second senior staff member of 5 at my level. I am physically tired, and the psychological impact on me is becoming evident. I am appealing, primarily as a delaying tactic as I don't believe I can win and be vindicated.

I am currently working in a large institutional environment doing biomedical research grant administration. Most of my employment history is governmental, emphasizing social service grant administration at the municipal level.

Bottom line: I need to make a move ASAP. Any members, particularly those in the DFW area, who can offer suggestions or point me in a direction, please help. I'm still relatively new to the area, and haven't developed the networking resources I should have been working on, and I'm not in the best frame of mind to be thinking about creative alternatives.

Thanks,

Scott
"Ah, is there any wine so sweet and intoxicating as the tears of a hippie?"-Tamara, View From the Porch

Jamisjockey

• Booze-fueled paragon of pointless cruelty and wanton sadism
  • friend
  • Your mom sends me care packages
Re: DFW Job Search Help
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2007, 07:33:09 AM »
www.monster.com
Bad employers suck.  Move on asap.
JD

The price of a lottery ticket seems to be the maximum most folks are willing to risk toward the dream of becoming a one-percenter. “Robert Hollis”

Sindawe

• friend
  • Vashneesht