Author Topic: 1970s Honda motorcycles...  (Read 3345 times)

gbelleh

1970s Honda motorcycles...
« on: June 19, 2005, 12:45:10 PM »
I've been getting interested in motorcycles recently.  I find I don't really like the modern sport bike or Harley cruiser look.  I like the looks of the Honda CBs of the 70s.  Anyone have experience with these?  I'm interested in a 1970s CB in the 350-550 cc range.  Anything to watch out for?  Notorious problems, etc.?  I'm still new to bikes and don't know a whole lot yet.  I see there are quite a few bikers here.  Thanks.
gbelleh

P95Carry

« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2005, 04:57:42 PM »
gbelleh - well I have had two CB's -

First was CB 250 (later called ''Super Dream!!") bought new ........... then a CB400 (used) .

The first was ''OK'' but hardly staggering!  I used it for city and urban commute and it did so quite well - except - I was aware after 15k miles that top end noise was getting a bit excessive.  On inspection found the cam follower on two rockers was worn thru!!  Cam lobes were OK fortunately so just replaced rockers.

The CB400 was a mini rocket!  What a GREAT little bike - and it was small!  But very lively, handling was fair and altogether a great fun machine.  Sounded nice too.  Only had that from about 10k thru 18k miles and no major probs tho had a feeling cam chain was getting premature slop tho I checked adjustment.

Finally - a buddy in 1975 got one of the earlier CB 750's - oh man!!  Rode with him on that and in the city streets we did 0-60 in - very quick time - just getting into 2nd gear!  I'd love to have a good 750 - it was a fine bike - tho I seem to remember the exhaust systems rotted out a bit quick.

In your size range quoted - see if you can find an OK CB400 - tho can't believe there can be too many around.  Good hunting. Smiley
Chris - P95
Guns don't kill people - people kill people.
NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.
Rohrbaugh interest/ownership? - Rohrbaugh Forum Rohrbaugh R9 FAQ Site