Author Topic: A couple of cases of "I don't want to end up like that"  (Read 465 times)

lee n. field

• friend
  • tinpot megalomaniac, Paulbot, hardware goon
A couple of cases of "I don't want to end up like that"
« on: August 20, 2019, 06:49:23 PM »
A couple interesting service calls this week.  A couple cases of, unfortunately, PEBKAC.

1) Home call, sloughed onto me by another tech.  Old lady in a condo in a cul-de-sac on the edge of town.  I'm guessing in her '80s somewhere.  Comfortably well off, edging into dementia.  IMHO&YMMV, I am not a doctor nor do I play one on TeeVee.  Kept asking the same questions over and over.  Had no clue (well, she had a notion, but it was wrong, both of them) what the login password for her ordinary and perfectly functioning 10 year old computer was.  Really, the only useful thing I was able to do for her was clear that password, so she goes straight to a desktop.  "Do you do banking with this?"  "No."   "Good."