Author Topic: Powder Scales  (Read 2876 times)

New Reloader

Powder Scales
« on: January 19, 2008, 04:38:40 AM »
I have been reloading for a few months now and am a bit confused as to why I cannot seem to get accurate measures of powder from pull to pull. I have an RCBS 5-0-2 scale that came with my turret press. Before loading cases I carefully pull several loads to make sure the powder measure is accurate (so I think). During the reloading of my cases I check every 4-5 powder pulls for weight. They always seem to vary. Am I doing something wrong? Should I consider a digital scale? Are digital scales more accurate? Thanks for your replies.

jrfoxx

Re: Powder Scales
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2008, 05:17:51 AM »
Unlikely your scale is the problem.Much more likley it is your powder thrower/measure.It may just not be a very good one, or may have a defect, or may just not work well with certain powder types (stick powders a pretty well known for not always working well in many powder throwers/measures, as they like to clog/bind up in the opening due to the shape, thus throwing the measuring off).This forum would be a GREAT place to also ask this, or any gun/reloading questions.http://www.thehighroad.org/forumdisplay.php?f=15

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2008, 05:48:03 AM »
You're not giving us enough information. Any answers that are given are going to be WILDLY speculative and may or may not address your particular situation, and in a worse case scenario could make things much much worse.

Answer these questions, and then we can make some informed comments.

1. What powder are you using?

2. What is your target charge weight?

3. The charges that vary in weight from the standard you've chosen, by HOW MUCH do they vary, and are they heavy or light?

4. What powder thrower are you using?

5. What press are you using?

6. Are you using a baffle in the powder hopper?