Author Topic: Is RKBA a CIVIL RIGHT?  (Read 5345 times)

Werewolf

• friend
  • Lead, Follow or Get the HELL out of the WAY!
Is RKBA a CIVIL RIGHT?
« on: August 02, 2008, 10:50:05 AM »
There's a heated discussion going on at THR concerning whether or not the right to keep and bear arms is a civil right.

After wading thru it I don't have a clue one way or the other. The most telling thing I read - assuming the facts as stated are correct - is that if the 2nd and self defense is a civil right that property rights no longer trumps RKBA and no guns signs are pretty much meaningless. The argument goes like this. Heller made RKBA a civil right (I'm not sure it did). The 1960's civil rights act made civil rights trump property rights (did it?). If true then the argument that their house their rules re: carrying at a business goes out the window.

I am not a lawyer. Got no clue about this?

Is RKBA a civil right? Does the 2nd have the same standing re civil rights as all the others in the BOR's?

If so how can businesses prevent employees from legally carrying? Is it simply because that hasn't been tested in the courts in light of Heller? Or that no lawyer has made the connection between the 2nd and the 1960's civil rights act.

What say y'all?
Life is short, Break the rules, Forgive quickly, Kiss slowly, Love
truly, Laugh uncontrollably, And never regret anything that made you smile.

Fight Me Online

MicroBalrog

• friend
Re: Is RKBA a CIVIL RIGHT?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2008, 11:15:57 AM »
The thinking that 'civil rights' and 'property rights' are separable is part of the problem.
Destroy The Enemy in Hand-to-Hand Combat.

"...tradition and custom becomes intertwined and are a strong coercion which directs the society upon fixed lines, and strangles liberty. " ~ William Graham Sumner

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2008, 01:03:30 PM »