Author Topic: Be careful with online shopping on forums...  (Read 514 times)

K Frame

• friend
  • I Am Inimical
Be careful with online shopping on forums...
« on: December 19, 2021, 07:45:43 AM »
I'm an admin at TFL. In the past month we've had two cases of European fraudsters hacking a TFL member's account and posting what seems to be a smoking hot deal in the sales forums.

The first case, which tipped us off to what might be happening, was noticed by the member who responded to a private message asking about the item.

That's when we discovered the European connection.

The second incident a few days ago very likely would have resulted in a TFL member losing $1,000 had it not been for a simple error caught by a third member.

The IPs used in both cases have resolved to Europe, in both cases with a known history of being used by spammers. We've locked down the IP ranges, but in the past they've proven to be pretty adept at slipping through the cracks.

Our best guess is that they're getting in simply by using brute force password hacks against older, weaker passwords. Don't have 100% confirmation of that.

So, suggestion. If you've not changed your password for online forums for awhile, it's probably time to do so, and to make them a lot more robust.

Carbon Monoxide, sucking the life out of idiots, 'tards, and fools since man tamed fire.

Fly320s

• friend
  • Formerly, Arthur, King of the Britons
Re: Be careful with online shopping on forums...
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2021, 08:36:56 AM »
How do we know that you are the real K Frame?  Maybe you are actually Taurus Judge trying to trick everyone into buying you .410 shotshells.
Islamic sex dolls.  Do they blow themselves up?

Bob F.

• friend
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2021, 08:55:38 PM »
Been using same password a couple years, not usually log out. Now can't figure out how to change it. Search says change feature has been disabled?

HELP!!!!
"I always have my primary weapon, it's right between my ears."