Main Forums > The Roundtable

excel sorting, mix of letters/numbers

(1/3) > >>

Brad Johnson:
Fighting an issue in Excel. I have a master database of rooms. Room numbers are the usual mix where main room numbers are all numeric but sub-rooms have an alpha suffix.

Example: Main room is 120. Attached storage room is 120A.

Excel is doggedly treating some cells as text, some as numbers. I've tried group-formatting them to TEXT, GENERAL, and CUSTOM with no luck. It also insists on grouping the sorts into TEXT and NUMBER blocks regardless of what formatting I use.

When I sort, it gives me the choice of A) Sort anything that looks like a number as a number, or B) Sort numbers and numbers stored as text separately. Neither gives satisfactory results, wanting to group cells with numbers only and cells with numeric/alpha room numbers seperately.

Anyone have a way to beat it into submission?

Brad

MechAg94:
The only brute force way that comes immediately to mind is to strip off the letters into a separate column then do a two tier sort.  Depends on how long the list is.  I will have to think more about that.

K Frame:
Just off the top of my head, set the cell type to General and throw a hyphen in between the room number and letter.

Or... Move the letter designator to its own column.

K Frame:
OK, my first suggestion doesn't work.

Adding a new column for the letter designator and doing a custom two-tiered sort as suggest by Mech works.... sort of.

When I did it I got..

120A
120B
120C

221A
221B

I can't figure out how to get the numeric only room to list first, followed by the alpha numerics.

dogmush:
The technique posted in the first response on this thread works: https://www.mrexcel.com/board/threads/sort-numbers-with-letters-at-the-end.1174352/