Author Topic: What old customs do you remember from childhood that are gone today?  (Read 14714 times)

Gewehr98

• friend
  • Yee-haa!
    • Neural Misfires (Blog)
I remember my maternal grandfather eating his green peas by lining them up on his knife.  He had a spoon and fork on the table, but he ate them off the knife like it was second nature.

He was an expert carpenter and cabinetmaker by trade, and whenever he garfed his fingers or hands, the red mercurochrome came out of the cabinet.  Do people still use that stuff? Maybe it had something to do with him being a B-17 flight engineer in the 8th Air Force out of England during WWII, and mercurochrome being a common antiseptic, much like betadine solution is these days?

Depending on where I go, I see folks eat spaghetti with either just a fork, or a fork and spoon, twirling the spaghetti in the spoon before sticking the food in their gobs.

My paternal grandfather used to stop working at almost the same time each summer afternoon, place a folding tv-tray in front of his lawnchair, get a glass full of ice cubes, pour a beer into it, and then shake salt into the drink.  I always wondered if the beer tastes so bad it needed to be doctored, why drink it? (Corona and lime notwithstanding)

Cod liver oil.  Need I say more?

How about liver & onions once a week?  I still gag at the thought...

We always went to Friday fish fries.  You know, the good beer-battered cod or haddock - and we're not Catholic.  Is that a Wisconsin thing?

Tomato juice does actually work to get the skunk smell off a dog.  Wink

Old obituaries often stated folks died of apoplexy.  What does that equate to these days?

Wife says if she's on top, it'll be a boy.  If I'm on top, it'll be a girl.  I'd like to see that one played out on MythBusters.

Who figured out that if you put a glass of beer on or in the ground near your strawberry plants, it'll be full of slugs and snails overnight and your strawberries will be protected?