Author Topic: Console Gaming - WTF?  (Read 8456 times)

Werewolf

• friend
  • Lead, Follow or Get the HELL out of the WAY!
Console Gaming - WTF?
« on: May 10, 2008, 06:01:18 AM »
I've been playing games on the PC since 1979 when I got a TRS-80 (OKAY guys fess up - who here had one of those). PC games until recently always came with excellent and very detailed manuals. The still do but usually as a PDF now.

Last week I bought a PS3 along with GTA IV, Drakes Fortune, WWE/Smackdown, Unreal Tournament 3 and MLB08 the Show.

In every case the manuals absolutely...

SUCK!

Calling them manuals is really being generous because IMO they're really little more than a quick overview.

They all assume:

1. You're an expert on all things PS3
2. You're an expert on the itty bitty, gotta have fighter pilot dexterity to use 'em controllers
3. You're an expert on the game/sport being simulated: for example in MLB08 it assumes you know baseball lingo, in WWE it assumes you know wrestling lingo. I don't - haven't played BB since I was 12 and that was 44 years ago and haven't watched wrestling since I was 16. So there's all these things you can do but don't have a freaking clue what will happen when you do them because you don't understand the lingo.

So instead of enjoying the game right out of the box unless you're all the things the game publishers assume you have to spend hours figuring out how to do the things it tells you can be done and what makes it worse is you have to spend even more time figuring out all the stuff left out of the manual that isn't even mentioned but you know can be done from the advertising and features list on the game's web site.

AND then there's the various game forums for each game: Did GOD find all the pricks on the planet, turn 'em into console gamers (yeah, yeah I know - leaving myself wide open here) and make 'em active console gaming forum members?