Author Topic: Need advice on drilling into a vertical concrete pillar  (Read 2583 times)

Balog

• Unrepentant race traitor
  • friends
  • What if we tried more?
Need advice on drilling into a vertical concrete pillar
« on: March 12, 2014, 02:35:16 PM »
I work as a building engineer, and I need to install convex traffic mirrors for our parking garage. This requires drilling a blind hole into a vertical concrete face in order to put in an anchor. I've tried just getting up on a ladder and using a rotohammer and concrete bit, but am encountering problems. The pillar I'm drilling into is on a ramp, so the ladder is already tilted backwards. When I try to apply pressure it wants to go over. And, the hammer drill at this property is tiny so I need to apply a lot of force to make any headway. As a result, by the time it's deep enough to set the anchor it's been hogged out to the point that it's too large a diameter.

There are a few options that I can see, none of which I like much. I could set up a small scaffold to counteract the pitched floor, but that's time consuming to do multiple times, it would be in the traffic flow, and I would need to buy or rent the scaffold. I could buy or rent a larger rotohammer, but I need to do this sort of thing so seldom I don't want to sink a bunch of money from a small tools budget that's already short and that still wouldn't address the floor slope issue.

Ideally, what I'd like is to rent something like a small drill press that's made to attach to a vertical surface and drill into the concrete. Does anyone make something like this, and what is it called? Any other clever ideas?
Quote from: French G.
I was always pleasant, friendly and within arm's reach of a gun.

Quote from: Standing Wolf
If government is the answer, it must have been a really, really, really stupid question.

dogmush

• friend
Re: Need advice on drilling into a vertical concrete pillar
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 02:40:34 PM »