Author Topic: Tabulature = Copyright Infringement  (Read 1365 times)

Mabs2

• friend
  • セクシー
    • iCarly
Tabulature = Copyright Infringement
« on: July 25, 2006, 04:16:36 PM »
As some of you may know, I'm a beginning guitarist...

It's just come to my attention that one of my favorite tabulature (sheet music for dummies, kind of) (www.mxtabs.net/index.html" target="_blank">MXTabs) websites has been shut down by the National Music Publisher's Association (NMPA)...

Come to find out, another of my favorite sites (www.guitartabs.cc/" target="_blank">Guitar Tab Universe) is currently under attack by the NMPA...
This is very disheartening for me, as I don't have the ability yet to learn songs by ear...so this has basically put a halt to my learning.
I didn't think this belonged in THR's Legal and Political, so I figured I'd just post it here and ask everyone's opinion.

My opinion as a musician is this:  Music is for everyone.  If I were in the position where I thought others wanted to play my music, I would put the tabulature up myself (as many bands and musicians do on their own websites...heck, most of the tabulature you'd see on those two sites were from the official artist's site).

The only restriction I believe there should be on tabulature is that a person can't go out and claim the music as his creation and make records/etc....and that really has nothing to do with tabulature, as a person can do this without it.

Maybe my views are flawed, I dunno.  I'd like some other opinions.
Quote from: jamisjockey
Sunday it felt a little better, but it was quite irritated from me rubbing it.
Quote from: Mike Irwin
If you watch any of the really early episodes of the Porter Waggoner show she was in (1967) it's very clear that he was well endowed.
Quote from: Ben
Just wanted to give a forum thumbs up to Dick.

Felonious Monk/Fignozzle

« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2006, 05:00:19 PM »
This really chafes my chaps.