Author Topic: Ask your doctor if antibiotics are an option for appendicitis  (Read 864 times)

MillCreek

• Skippy The Wonder Dog
  • friend
  • APS Risk Manager
Ask your doctor if antibiotics are an option for appendicitis
« on: October 05, 2020, 02:54:13 PM »
https://www.nejm.org/doi/full/10.1056/NEJMoa2014320

In some situations, antibiotics are a viable treatment option for appendicitis.

Quote from: Angel Eyes on August 09, 2018, 01:56:15 AM
You are one lousy risk manager.

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
Re: Ask your doctor if antibiotics are an option for appendicitis
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2020, 02:59:04 PM »
Interesting. As a layman, I just figured once people were in enough distress to see the doctor, that things were at the point that the appendix had to go. A non-invasive option is always a plus.
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

Hawkmoon

• friend
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2020, 06:54:35 PM »
After reading the article, the antiobiotic option doesn't strike me as being particularly attractive. Three months out, a third of those who took the antibiotics had to undergo appendectomy anyway. I'd ratther just get it over with.
- - - - - - - - - - - - -
100% Politically Incorrect by Design

Silver Bullet

• friend
« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2020, 07:11:59 PM »
things were at the point that the appendix had to go.

That's what I always thought, that appendicitis is very time critical.  If you let the appendix burst you have a bunch of new problems with the infection spreading through your system.

That's why I always advocate for an appendix transplant, if you can find a donor in time!   :old:

grampster

• friend
« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2020, 07:50:00 PM »