Author Topic: For the Veterans on here, Covid shots........  (Read 544 times)

Grandpa Shooter

• friend
For the Veterans on here, Covid shots........
« on: March 22, 2021, 04:46:17 PM »
https://www.military.com/daily-news/2021/03/19/congress-passes-sweeping-new-rule-allowing-va-vaccinate-all-veterans-spouses.html?ESRC=mr_210322.nl

I thought this might interest the Vets on here who are wanting a shot.  I don't know the particulars of timing and all that, just thought I would share the article.

Hawkmoon

• friend
Re: For the Veterans on here, Covid shots........
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2021, 07:01:45 PM »
Has this even passed the Senate yet?

I'm not sure how I feel about it. I am a veteran, and I got the vaccinations (both shots) in January, so it won't affect me. Beyond that, I am firmly on the fence. It sounds like a no-brainer that making the vaccine available to all veterans, not just those enrolled in VA Health Care, AND their spouses must be a good thing, right?

Except that those people are probably already eligible under at one or more other programs. Having been going to my local VA hospital for more than 20 years, and having gone through their COVID-19 vaccination program -- I don't see how they could possibly handle the added load of twice as many veterans PLUS spouses. The VA can't possibly vaccinate potentially three times the number of people they are currently planning to handle without three times as much vaccine. Where is that supposed to come from, and who is going to NOT get the doses that get diverted to the VA?

This is typical, liberal, feel-good legislation that makes for great sound bites but probably can't be implemented in the real world. But, by the time they figure out that it doesn't work, Biden will have scored the PR points and the media will have moved on, so there will be no follow-ups to report on the fact that the program was a flop, and that it totally screwed up the VA Health Care system.
- - - - - - - - - - - - -