Author Topic: An Unemployed Bum!  (Read 2479 times)

Moondoggie

• friend
An Unemployed Bum!
« on: June 26, 2007, 12:43:25 PM »
This week my wife and I decided to pull the plug on our trucking biz.

Expenses and hassels just made it not such a good deal, and not enjoyable anymore.  Don't get me started on the taxes...gag!  I've been trucking for 8 yrs now since I retired from the service, and to tell the truth, I'm tired of being away from home even if it's only for 3 days a week as I've been doing for the past 40 months or so.  The 3 yrs that my wife teamed with me were the best.

We have enough left in the business to pay ourselves the usual salary for 6 months or so, plus the value of the tractor & trailer when we sell them (they're debt free).  I'm going to pull the 5.5kw diesel genset and keep it.  Since we're an S Corp, we've been paying into state/fed unemployment.  I may have to get some of that back, depending upon what the in's and out's of that system are.

In the meantime, I'm in the job market.  Our town has an opening on the 10 man PD at $12.50/hr.  I'm going to submit an app.     police     

Our locally owned supermarket is looking for a bakery dept mgr.  I'm going in to talk with the owner tomorrow.  Upsides are that it's 6 blocks from the house, and I love to cook and worked as a baker in my HS days.  I have a BA in BusAdmin.   Downside is that the store owner is known as something as a difficult personality.  We'll see.

At this stage in life and finances, as long as I make $24K (in addition to my retirement) we're doing just fine.  All of my debt (zero interest car loan) will be gone next year, so I'm pretty sure we're not going to face starvation or privation.

Last resort is going back to truck driving.  I can work for any outfit for 6 months, and bank enough to take 12 months off.

Something will turn up.....it always has.  I haven't been out of work a day in my life in the last 40 yrs.

Known from coast to coast, almost!

Paddy