Author Topic: Seasoned negotiators: did I do well or screw up?  (Read 1560 times)

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
Seasoned negotiators: did I do well or screw up?
« on: July 22, 2005, 08:13:44 PM »
I'm a professional photographer, and have been for some 28 years. I thought my reputation was no longer worth anything, but was pleasantly surprised to hear that art directors at advertising agencies in my area still hold me in high regard, far higher than I thought.

Would that they should send me paying jobs, though. Wink

At any rate, I really want out of the business, which is why I started my website last year.

When I realized that the website would take longer to get paying subscribers, I picked up on a comment made from an assistant at an up-and-coming photo studio here in town. They had talked about hiring someone like me, someone with a proven record and contacts and reputation, to help boost their sales.

So far, so good. Early this year I sat down with the owner and everyone else who had the power to make decisions. They were hot to have me on staff. Very hot.

My offer was as follows: I would shoot for them for $500 a day. I proposed a standard rate for day-shooters who have little or no reputation at all. To put all this in perspective, I had been charging anywhere from four to ten times that much a day for my work when I was on my own.

What I asked for in exchange was a guarantee of five work days a month, whether they could sell me or not.

The reason I asked for so much less was that I expected their sales force--five sales reps--to be able to bring in work for me. In the interim, I wanted to continue to pursue my website.

Well, the marketplace has its own sets of rules. There's been practically no work for any studio in town for a couple of months. And almost no work for me.