Author Topic: Prom, a story and a question  (Read 10923 times)

TMM

• friend
Prom, a story and a question
« on: May 03, 2007, 11:04:19 AM »
Well, i grew the cajones to ask a girl i had my eye on to prom recently. i was quite happy with myself, since i'm rather shy and introverted when it comes to that. it worked out perfectly - when i asked her if she'd care to join me to prom, her whole face lit up and she had a big smile on her face. [oh, and she gave me a hug!]

"i've got a question for you. are you going to prom?"
"Oh, no, i can't because i'm a sophomore..."
"oh, i know, so how'd you like to go with me?"
*big smile, etc* "really?!"
"Yes, definately!"
"oh, yay! hug!"
*hugs*

yea... it was a good day.

So, the questions. i'm in the dark as to clothing, etiquitte, etc. the questions that i have off the top of my head are...
1) Clothing. i have a quite nice pinstripe [black with grey and dark blue stripe] two piece suit, which i am considering adding a matching pinstripe vest, if i can find it, or a simple black one. under that, a button up shirt and a tie. what color should those be? i was thinking all black, or throw some dark red in there. think that would be SUITable? [haha...] of course, my Knox grey felt fedora comes with. then to shoes: i've got a pair of black wingtips which i think would be good, or also oxblood semi-wingtip[shorter toe but still pointy]. any thoughts there? of course, i could rent a tux, but i want to stand out from the crowd and be a little different.not to mention, i think they're somewhat unsightly, hah.
2) my dad said i should get a corsage [sp?] for her. you know, those little flower deals. yes/no? comments?
3) i'd like to think i'm half-decent on etiquette, but anything i should keep in mind? opening doors, pulling out chairs, etc?

hmm... that's all i can think of. any other suggestions welcomed, of course.
thanks,
~tmm

Matthew Carberry

• Formerly carebear
  • friend
  • Fiat justitia, pereat mundus