Author Topic: Starting to wonder...  (Read 1866 times)

Felonious Monk/Fignozzle

Starting to wonder...
« on: July 23, 2006, 08:10:45 PM »
Is it me?

I'm pleasant, I'm kind, I'm conscientious, diligent and dedicated.
Does my breath stink?  I shower regularly.  I don't fart in meetings.
Have I deceived myself into thinking that I'm a competent IT professional, when I'm NOT? (I don't think so.)

Or have I just had the worst run of luck in the WORLD professionally?

They downsized me out of Oak Ridge in '03.  Since this had happened 3 times in 4 years (subcontract companies get swallowed up by larger ones), I moved to Alo-Bammo to get a fresh start, away from the "churn" of gubmint contracting.  

They roll out the red carpet for me in Mayberry, AL; wining, dining, and making sure I was given the royal treatment...until they got me to accept their offer.
Then, they change the job description-- drastically-- 3 months into the process.

So, a couple of months later, I kiss them goodbye, go to work for the biggest utility conglomerate in the south (albeit as a contractor; many IT departments hire through contract-to-perm arrangements these days), and managed not to make it 90 days before being told my contract was no longer renewed.

I've got a family to provide for, and I know I'll get another job, but son of a GUN, I am sooooo tired of having my livelihood toyed with.

This time, I ran afoul of a 30-something Gen-X mommy of toddlers, whose background is in HR.  She got the IT mgmt gig as her first foray outside of HR, and who expected contractors to bow and scrape and kiss the ring as she passed.
I treated her like any other co-worker, with respect and cordiality, but never kissed up.
As a result, I'm gone.

What do I have to do to maintain personal integrity and still keep a job?
I'm feeling very very old before my time at this point.

Thanks for letting me rant.  
Fig

Sylvilagus Aquaticus

• friend
    • http://profiles.yahoo.com/sylvilagus
Starting to wonder...