Author Topic: Tell me about oil filters  (Read 1284 times)

griz

• friend
Tell me about oil filters
« on: November 28, 2006, 03:58:30 PM »
Can some of you tell me what I need to know about oil filters?  The price seems to vary from under $3 to $9.  Why is there a three fold spread in price?  Is one brand much better than others?  I would assume that the filters ability to trap smaller particles is what would make it "better".  Are there other criteria?

If it matters to your answer, my driving is mostly highway, almost no short trips, and I change the oil at 5000 miles with synthetic.
Sent from a stone age computer via an ordinary keyboard.

Declaration Day

• friends
Re: Tell me about oil filters
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2006, 04:10:52 PM »
I am no expert, but the way I understand it, quality is determined by the filter's ability to trap smaller particles, and its longevity.

I use cheap oil and filters in all of our vehicles, and I change oil according to the color of the oil on the dipstick, not by miles or months.

Sindawe

• friend
  • Vashneesht
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2006, 04:22:38 PM »
Filters: http://www.ntpog.org/reviews/filters/filters.shtml

Oil: http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/

And to think, I once thought us gun nuts were obsessive.  grin
I am free, no matter what rules surround me. If I find them tolerable, I tolerate them; if I find them too obnoxious, I break them. I am free because I know that I alone am morally responsible for everything I do.

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2006, 07:51:51 PM »
The finer the filter, the more often it will need to be replaced. Otherwise, it will become clogged more often.

If you ever have a mechanic take apart your motor, or if you should do it yourself, take a look at some of the huge pieces of carbon that are floating around in your motor.

mfree

• friend
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2006, 04:48:38 AM »
Read the sites given.