Main Forums > The Roundtable

Harley parts prices!

(1/4) > >>

Monkeyleg:
I've been riding motorcycles since I was old enough for a license in 1966. Big bikes, tiny bikes...in the end, it doesn't matter.

Anywho, I haven't been able to log the usual miles since 2001 because of health and money problems. Probably sounds familiar to a lot of folks.

I keep my '89 Springer (which I stole from the bank as a repo) in excellent condition. The bike and I have been all over the country, seen every great road, and been through every kind of weather. You name it, we've seen it.

This year, I see I need new tires. I'm not even venturing out on what's there.

Over the past maybe 15 or 20 years, I've taken the wheels off myself (save money) and take them in for new rubber. Last time was maybe two years ago. Cost for new tires, tubes, and balance: $365. It's been that price since I can remember. (P.S. I also do every other bit of repair myself, from tranny's to pistons to valves to belts, and everything in between. Better results, lower cost).

This week I took the wheels in for new tires, tubes and balance. Behold the new price: $475. A 27% increase in just a couple of years. On top of that, the service guy told me that, if I'd brought the whole bike in to have the wheels taken off and put back on, it would have cost an additional $130 for labor.

$130? I don't have a lift, but I can pull the wheels off and put them back on in about 1/2 hour. Plus, I don't scratch my bike, like every dealership seems to do when they get their hands on it.

While I'm waiting for the service guy to figure out how much to gouge me, I headed up to the parts counter to buy three--three!--cotter pins for the front brake caliper. Used to be that the HD dealer charged me about the same that I'd pay at the hardware store. IOW, maybe 25 cents each. Nope. Three cotter pins: $3.15.