Author Topic: 18,000 miles and I need new brake rotors?  (Read 3796 times)

Monkeyleg

• friend
  • Tattaglia is a pimp.
    • http://www.gunshopfinder.com
18,000 miles and I need new brake rotors?
« on: September 29, 2006, 07:16:03 PM »
I've been doing my own repairs on cars for over 40 years.

For a surprise Christmas present in December of 2002, I got my wife a new 2003 Chrysler PT Cruiser.

IIRC, it wasn't much more than a year after that when she started to complain about the squealing noise from the brakes.

Considering that my wife is one of those drivers who floors it from the stoplight, and then slams the brakes a block later at the next light, I figured that she'd just glazed up the pads.

This afternoon, my wife's sister's husband--who has now become the family expert on just about everything--looked at the rotors and said that the pads were down to the metal.

So, flashlight in hand, I looked at and ran my fingers over the rotors. Not smooth, but not gouged up the way rotors would be if the pads were down to the rivets. Considering all the construction--gravel, dirt, mud, and everything else that's been going on in our area--it wouldn't surprise me that the rotors have taken more than normal abuse.

But new rotors at 18,000 miles?

The high and low spots on the rotors are pretty shallow, although I can definitely feel them. It's a smooth transition from high to low, rather than grooves like you'd feel on an old record album.

So, considering that money is tight, and my back can't stand much strain, would you opt for: a) just putting on new pads; b) getting new pads and having the rotors cut (assuming that all of that can be done in the one day my wife has off); c) buying new rotors and pads and installing them myself or; d) handing the car off to a repair shop?

I haven't pulled the wheels, so I haven't miked the rotors.

Opinions very much welcome.

charby

• Necromancer
  • Administrator
  • APS's Resident Sikh/Muslim