Author Topic: tactical flashlight - your thoughts  (Read 2197 times)

ilbob

• friend
    • Bob's blog
bob

Disclaimers: I am not a lawyer, cop, soldier, gunsmith, politician, plumber, electrician, or a professional practitioner of many of the other things I comment on in this forum.

Headless Thompson Gunner

• friend
Re: tactical flashlight - your thoughts
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2006, 07:36:15 PM »
For $13, it's probably worth trying.  Buy one and let us know how it turns out.  Tongue

Preacherman

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2006, 08:04:38 PM »
Beware of the wording of that ad!  When they say it can be 'seen from a mile away', that's meaningless - given the right atmospheric conditions and line of sight, you can see a match flame from a mile away!  They're trying to make you misinterpret the blurb as meaning that the light will illuminate something a mile away, which of course it won't.  I've learned that when an ad makes a claim like that, they're basically out to mislead you.  I'd be cautious, and go with a product whose maker talks in terms of lumens or candlepower or beam focus and effective range, rather than a useless claim like that.
Let's put the fun back in dysfunctional!

Please visit my blog: http://bayourenaissanceman.blogspot.com/

griz

• friend
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2006, 02:33:15 AM »
I haven't seen one of those, but it sounds too good to be true.  And I don't mean that in a good way.
Sent from a stone age computer via an ordinary keyboard.

Mannlicher

• Grumpy Old Gator
  • friend
  • The Bonnie Blue
« Reply #4 on: October 27, 2006, 03:56:49 AM »
hmmmmmm  without it saying "surefire" on the product, and costing several hundred bucks, I kinda doubt that it can be really "tactical".

cool

ilbob

• friend
    • Bob's blog
« Reply #5 on: October 27, 2006, 05:18:18 AM »
Perhaps I should have pointed out what i found interesting.

Why would a place that sells cheap tools (some of which are quite good by the way) sell a tactical anything?

bob