Author Topic: Any experience with summer interships?  (Read 958 times)

zahc

• friend
Any experience with summer interships?
« on: January 11, 2006, 10:04:15 PM »
I'm a junior physics major at a small private college in OH with a pretty unfortunate physics department. I'm looking into a summer internship to further my experience at a school that has actual, you know, labs and stuff.

Advantages:you usually make money, experience, travel, resume building, see if graduate school is for me.

Disadvantages:I'm an atypical college student; I live in an apartment with a lease agreement, complete with 50 gallon aquaria and big screen TV. Moving away for the summer would either force me to NOT renew my lease, forcing me to find affordable housing close to campus when I come back (not easy) or pay rent on a place I'm not going to be living in all summer. Furthermore, on-campus housing is usually provided, but you know what that means...no contraband. So either find a place to store it (where it's useless anyway) or don't bring it. I'm not sure if I can really live on-campus. I don't think I'm cut out for it. Living with another person on campus is not an option. Finding paying for ANOTHER apartment sounds difficult and wasteful.

A quick look at NSFs summer REU page turned up about three pages of schools offering some kind of program in physics research or engineering. Does anyone know of any good sites that help the search?

Does anyone who has gone through this have any advice?
Maybe a rare occurence, but then you only have to get murdered once to ruin your whole day.
--Tallpine

DrAmazon

• friend
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2006, 06:05:38 AM »
NSF-REU is actually a great program.  It is well known and well respected.  It pays stipend plus room, and in some places pays board too.  I did one between my senior and 5th years in college, and it helped me cement my decision to go to grad school, and I'm sure that it helped me get into grad schools.