Author Topic: Car buying strategies, balancing costs and wants, new vs used  (Read 5889 times)

cfabe

• friend
Car buying strategies, balancing costs and wants, new vs used
« on: August 22, 2005, 08:32:29 AM »
Well I'm in the market for a new car. I currently have a worn out 94 caprice police car, which served me well during college. I graduated last december and got a job making good money. I'm really having a problem deciding what to aim at in a new (or used) car.

From a pure practicality standpoint, I think the best bet would be a new economy car, with a good warranty, and good fuel economy. Hyundai elantra or similar. Friend has one and it's a fine car, but nothing to get excited about and not particulary nice to drive on long trips. Noisy at speed and harsh cheap suspension, and cheap seats. I also find these cars usually feel pretty small to me.

From a pure desire standpoint, I want a mid-size sports sedan. Audi A6 or similar. I want stick shift and >200hp engine, and a suspension and ride that's sporty but comfortable. Obviously this will be more expensive, and more thirsty. I usually drive less than 10k miles a year so fuel economy is not a huge deal but it is still a consideration.

There are some cars that might offer a comfortable mix. Nissan Altima and Maxima are high on my list right now. The real question is how do you weigh the decicsion over bare bones econocar versus nice comfortable fun car. Can I justifiy spending the extra $$ for a nicer car? Do I want to spend any money at all on a cheaper car I may tire of and regret?

Add into this discussion new versus used. I can get a lightly used, 3 year old, 50k mile Maxima for about what I'd pay for a new econo car. How much risk is there in buying a newer used car, versus a new one with a manufacturers warranty?