Author Topic: New employee background checks....  (Read 1320 times)

Jamisjockey

• Booze-fueled paragon of pointless cruelty and wanton sadism
  • friend
  • Your mom sends me care packages
New employee background checks....
« on: October 02, 2006, 10:04:21 AM »
....Wife and I run a home business, and part of it is hiring p/t help to work in our office.  Typical office detail, plus phones and some other work.  We've been lucky enough to hire people we knew here in Utah, but when we move to VA we're starting from scratch.  I've got no experience with running background checks on prospective employees....Not too interested in credit history, just criminal background checks.  Anyone ever done these before?  Help and advice would be appreciated.
JD

The price of a lottery ticket seems to be the maximum most folks are willing to risk toward the dream of becoming a one-percenter. “Robert Hollis”

Mannlicher

• Grumpy Old Gator
  • friend
  • The Bonnie Blue
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2006, 10:13:03 AM »
hire some company that does provides that sort of service.

Marnoot

• friend
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2006, 10:16:36 AM »
If you are looking for a regular criminal records check through BCI, you can do it yourself; or rather request it yourself. Here's the info you'd need: http://www.vsp.state.va.us/cjis_chrc.htm. You'd be interested in SP-167. You just have to get the request form notarized and what not.

HankB

• friend
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2006, 09:46:54 AM »
You can limit hiring to people with a Virgina license to carry . . . they've already passed criminal background checks, right?
Trump won in 2016. Democrats haven't been so offended since Republicans came along and freed their slaves.
Sometimes I wonder if the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it. - Mark Twain
Government is a broker in pillage, and every election is a sort of advance auction in stolen goods. - H.L. Mencken