Author Topic: Herman Cain wins Fl straw poll  (Read 4263 times)

drewtam

• friend
Herman Cain wins Fl straw poll
« on: September 26, 2011, 08:45:27 AM »
http://spectator.org/archives/2011/09/26/herman-cains-magic-moment

This thread is intended to be an open thread discussion on this guy.

I reviewed the resume on his campaign website, basic gist:
Born to poor parents
Went to college (not Ivy league)
Masters in Computer science degree while also working
started at Coca-Cola as systems analyst (low level professional)
Went to Pillsbury, moved up to VP
Worked on Burger King
Worked on Godfather's Pizza
Led the National Restaurants Association
Fought Hillarycare in the 90s
Did a stint at the Federal Reserve Board of Directors of Kansas City
Had a talk radio show

My opinion:
As an engineer, I appreciate the computer science MS degree. That is a no joke science degree.
As a conservative Christian, I appreciate his apparent belief, it comes off authentic. But one can never be sure with politicians.
Moving from systems analyst to VP of several important divisions is impressive.

His weakness to me is that he wears his faith to much in public. Federal Gov't doesn't need to be involved with such things.
Another weakness is that he lacks a lot of experience with gov't institutions. There is risk he can get in over his head dealing with a hostile middle management, or horse trading with the Congress. As VP of a large company, I'm sure he has international experience, but again, not of the political kind.

My very brief research shows that he has recently switched from "Fair Tax" support to a new "9,9,9" support. 9% corporate, 9% income, 9% sales.
I don't understand his switch; and it deeply concerns me. Because I don't want to see both income and sales taxes being allowed. If we are going to change it, then add the one and repeal the other.
I am not convinced that Fair Tax or Flat Tax will achieve anything significantly different in outcome than what we currently have.