Author Topic: Tell me about a "West Point" education.  (Read 7809 times)

Stand_watie

• friend
Tell me about a "West Point" education.
« on: January 20, 2007, 09:34:41 PM »
Just curious.

One of my recently favorite authors included in the bio on the book jacket that he was a West Point graduate.

I would assume the obvious, that West Point might have strong programs in areas like engineering, military history, political and military leadership, etc., but other than hearing a commencement congratulation that inferred that a young man who had been accepted at West Point had achieved something worthwhile, I have no knowledge of just how prestigious a school it is (or isn't).

Is a West Point education equivalent to an "Ivy League" school? A second tier school like the "University of (name your favorite)", or what?
Yizkor. Lo Od Pa'am

"You can have my gun when you pry it from my cold dead fingers"

"Never again"

"Malone Labe"

wmenorr67

• friend
Re: Tell me about a "West Point" education.
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2007, 09:37:53 PM »
I would place a West Point degreee above a Ivy League education.  The education that one would get at any service academy would be second to none.
There are five things, above all else, that make life worth living: a good relationship with God, a good woman, good health, good friends, and a good cigar.

Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you, Jesus Christ and the American Soldier.  One died for your soul, the other for your freedom.

Bacon is the candy bar of meats!

Only the dead have seen the end of war!

Stand_watie

• friend
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2007, 09:50:15 PM »
I would place a West Point degreee above a Ivy League education.  The education that one would get at any service academy would be second to none.

Could you name the other "service academies" that you know of for me?

I can only think of "The Citadel", the "Air Force academy", and that Texas A&M used to be a service academy.
Yizkor. Lo Od Pa'am