Author Topic: What to do when I grow up.  (Read 1498 times)

Lennyjoe

• friend
What to do when I grow up.
« on: January 31, 2006, 05:01:45 AM »
Well, its coming time to decide on what I want to do when I retire from the military.  I am over 20 but have decided to stay in until Oct 2007.  After that, who knows.  Thats where I'm at right now.

A little background on me.  I've been crewing aircraft for 20 years.  All those years were on A-10's so I have no heavy experience.  I am qualified on engines, hydraulics and airframe.  Also have spent 2 years in Aviation Safety.  Now I'm up in the managerial position running a flight of 60 guys on aircraft maintenance.  I have a A&P license that will help me make more money when I get out if I want to continue working on airplanes.  

The kids will be all grown up so it will be just me and the wife.  

The aviation community in the civilian world is touch and go.  My brother works for Continental as a mechanic and is making $32 per hour.  Good money but he also has been there for 13 years.  He wants me to come back up to Cleveland and work with him but I don't want to go back to Ohio.  

Another buddy of mine went thru the academy at 38 and is now a Tucson police officer.  We talked for quite a while and he got me thinking.  Also, I'm fed up with the border stuff so I was thinking about the Border Patrol.  Would like to get into their flying program here as a mechanic but don't know how tough that would be.

What do you all suggest, giving my background and experience?  Should I just stick with aircraft?  Should I pursue a Bachelors in Aviation safety and try to get into the NTSB?  Also, I can try to get my brother to transfer to Houston and join him there.   I like that idea better than Ohio for sure.  

I know, I'll have the wife get a better job so I can play golf and shoot guns all day long.  Think she'll go for that?

garyk/nm

• friend
  • shovelbum
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2006, 05:42:37 AM »