Author Topic: VPN Server Distance = Zero Mles?  (Read 1200 times)

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
VPN Server Distance = Zero Mles?
« on: May 16, 2017, 10:02:29 AM »
Quick question for nerds, because my google foo seems to be lacking. When I was browsing this morning and happened to check my VPN server load (I'm using Nord VPN), the distance to server was zero miles. Yesterday it was 32 miles, which would make sense since I'm about that far from Twin Falls, ID, which is big enough to host servers.

Right now I'm in the middle of nowhere, so unless cows have servers, it seems strange. Yesterday their were several severs in the 32 mile range, today they all read zero miles. I have no clue. I'm currently connected to one that's ~720 miles away.

I'm new to the cloud VPN game where you can choose your server, so not sure what to make of it. Heading to Utah today so I'll see if this repeats on the road.
"I'm a foolish old man that has been drawn into a wild goose chase by a harpy in trousers and a nincompoop."

HeroHog

• Technical Site Pig
  • Administrator
  • It can ALWAYS get worse!
    • FaceButt Profile
Re: VPN Server Distance = Zero Mles?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2017, 10:54:46 AM »
Right now I'm in the middle of nowhere, so unless cows have servers, it seems strange.

Cows have guns and with guns, you can get servers?
I might not last very long or be very effective but I'll be a real pain in the ass for a minute!
MOLON LABE!

RevDisk

• friend
    • RevDisk.net
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2017, 11:23:11 AM »

Don't worry about it. Just part of how the process works. Remember you're using protocols that are in some cases over 40 years old at this point.