Author Topic: Why do people root their phones?  (Read 3627 times)

zahc

• friend
Why do people root their phones?
« on: October 19, 2013, 11:25:06 PM »
I'm considering drinking more Verizon coolaid by upping my contract for another 2 years and getting an Samsung Galaxy SIII for $50.

From what I have been told, the Galaxy SIII normally comes with an unlocked bootloader, but the Verizon version is locked down. It can be hacked around, but maybe I should consider switching carriers since Verizon's phones area always crippled in some way.

Why should I care? What exactly do people do that requires an unlocked bootloader and root privileges? I honestly don't know since I'm new to the smartphone thing.
Maybe a rare occurence, but then you only have to get murdered once to ruin your whole day.
--Tallpine

Hawkmoon

• friend
Re: Why do people root their phones?
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2013, 11:32:12 PM »
I have an S3 and so far I've used it to make and receive a few phone calls.

It does something more than that?
- - - - - - - - - - - - -
100% Politically Incorrect by Design

Boomhauer

• Former Moderator, fired for embezzlement and abuse of power
  • friends
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2013, 11:43:40 PM »
There are apps the carriers don't want you to be able to run, or features they don't want you to be able to use.

When I was with Verizon, my only Smartphone with them was an iphone for two years. I didn't need to do anything outside of what they allowed, so there was no need for me to jailbreak it (Apple version of rooting).

Now when I switched to Sprint I wanted to do some things with my phone, such as tethering or mobile hotspotting, that they lock down. I was able to get an app to work around that issue but I would have had to root the phone if a working app was not available.

Quote from: Ben
Holy hell. It's like giving a loaded gun to a chimpanzee...

Quote from: bluestarlizzard
the last thing you need is rabies. You're already angry enough as it is.