Author Topic: Why does capitalism not want me to watch the Dodgers?  (Read 1183 times)

mr.v.

Why does capitalism not want me to watch the Dodgers?
« on: April 29, 2007, 08:56:16 PM »
Maybe someone can answer this...

I'm a dodger fan, but I work in a lab when pretty much every dodger game is on. I'm not going to be able to get my P.I. to approve of a cable subscription so I can watch Fox Sports (or a T.V. for that matter smiley. So the answer? MLB apparently has a stream that you can watch all the games. "AWESOME," I said to myself...except that it's blacked-out for IPs originating in LA.

Anonymous proxy servers rarely work well for anything other than standard port 80 fare and are, for the most part, too slow to stream video anyway.

It's blacked out. I'm guessing it's blacked out, so that Fox Sports Net can force people to watch the game through them as opposed to MLB.com because of contracts with MLB etc. So why, if capitalism is so great, do the folks at Fox Sports Net not also have a stream for the thousands of people (note that this situation may actually just be me...but don't let that taint this reasoning smiley who want to, but are unable to be exposed to the wonderful world of commercial advertising by Dodger brand loyalty?

They're missing me! I do want to know if Snicker's really satisfies!...I do care how many licks it takes to get to the center of a tootsie pop. Why, then, is capitalism not working? Did it break somewhere?

Where's Ayn Rand when you need her. She'd never stand for this kind of crap.

CatsDieNow

• friend
Re: Why does capitalism not want me to watch the Dodgers?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2007, 03:49:38 AM »
Theoretically, it's to protect the local advertisers.   rolleyes  Address all complaints to Bud Selig.