Author Topic: New member Introductions  (Read 3887 times)

HeroHog

• Technical Site Pig
  • Administrator
  • It can ALWAYS get worse!
    • FaceButt Profile
New member Introductions
« on: October 02, 2010, 03:22:31 AM »
Hello, I searched on "introduction" and "New member" and only found 2 short, old topics so I started one. Please feel to point me to the proper thread and I will introduce myself there.

I'm a former Master Mechanic/Racer turned computer geek who was forced to retire due to medical issues December 17 of 2009. I have been married to my wonderful wife 29 years now and she to is a shooter too! We are from Louisiana, She's a Shreveport gal and I was raised in Lafayette up till my mom died when I was 13 and then we moved around a bit till I graduated High School and volunteered to join the Navy just as Nam was ending. I was slightly disabled in service and was released with an Honorable Medical Discharge and moved to Shreveport where I worked as a mechanic and met and married my wife Terri.

My disability worsened and spread but the V.A. said they would help me out so I took a bunch of tests thinking they would send me to a trade school but they said "Which college do ya want to go to and what do you want to be? Pick anything, your scores are great!" So off to Louisiana Tech in Ruston I went to become a Mechanical Engineer! After getting beat down to a Technical Writing major due to my poor Trig/Calculus abilities, I had discovered and took off with computers soon building my own business and getting good at most all aspects of computing. During this time I also got my FFL and opened a small appointment only office front I shared with a much larger business. Long story shortened considerably, I climbed the ranks of my profession and became a Sr. Programmer/Analyst and my job took me to Bentonville, AR (home of Wal-Mart) to work for Brass Eagle Paintball and then to Charlottesville, VA.