Author Topic: new programming slang  (Read 937 times)

vaskidmark

• National Anthem Snob
  • friends
  • WTF?
new programming slang
« on: May 08, 2012, 09:36:00 AM »
http://umumble.com/blogs/Programming/321/

New programming slang.  Even as a non-computer Luddite I understand most of them, which makes them full of FAIL as slang, but still useful.

stay safe.
If cowardly and dishonorable men sometimes shoot unarmed men with army pistols or guns, the evil must be prevented by the penitentiary and gallows, and not by a general deprivation of a constitutional privilege.

Hey you kids!! Get off my lawn!!!

They keep making this eternal vigilance thing harder and harder.  Protecting the 2nd amendment is like playing PACMAN - there's no pause button so you can go to the bathroom.

mtnbkr

• friend
Re: new programming slang
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2012, 10:13:48 AM »
I'm guilty of Protoduction.

I'm not a developer, but I'm decent enough with Shell and Perl to throw solutions together for quick fixes, prototypes, etc. 

I was on an email thread with my group (Operations), Engineering (the folks that develop our products), and the Director of Engineering.  DoE was bitching that some feature he considered important to one of our products had not been developed by Product Mgmt and here we are 2yrs later and a customer was demanding it.  After a half day of everyone pointing to everybody else, I cranked out said feature and demonstrated it via screenshots and such.

Everyone liked it.

It got put into the product systems without much in the way of polishing.

It's ugly code.  My intention was to rub Engineering's nose in the mess they had made and show them how easy it was to add that functionality ("so easy a caveman can do it").  I never expected it to end up in a final product.

<sigh>

It works though.

Chris

Ben

• Administrator
  • I'm an Extremist!
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2012, 10:17:50 AM »
Smug Report