Author Topic: Religion not COOL?  (Read 14171 times)

TarpleyG

• friend
Religion not COOL?
« on: February 16, 2006, 09:53:57 AM »
Since when did being a religious/spritual person become not cool?  I work in IT with a bunch of tech-heads.  Most of them do not believe in God or anything else of higher being.  Rather petty and arrogant if you ask me.  Everyday I see people bash Christians for being believers and they are thought of as kooks or something.  When did this happen?

Greg

p.s. Don't turn this into a religion bashing session either.  If you don't have something positive to say, beat it.

mtnbkr

• friend
Religion not COOL?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2006, 10:02:12 AM »
That's been the case for as long as I can remember.

It gets really weird when you see that going on at a private Christian university.  I'm not particularly religious myself, but you gotta wonder why people who are that anti-religion would choose such a school.

Chris

Sindawe

• friend
  • Vashneesht
Religion not COOL?
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2006, 10:08:24 AM »
Some thoughts.

1. Tech-heads tend to be very analytical and rational in nature, and spiritual matters are hard to quantify.  "If it can't be measured, it don't exist."  Shortsighted IMAO, since measuring gamma radiation was not possible in the 15th century, but it most assuredly DID exist.  Science if the "religion" of our age.

2. Based on my exposure to "mainstream religions", a good chunk of the dogma involves surrendering to a higher power.  Tech-heads have a tendency to be control freaks, and the idea of surrender to an unmeasurable "thingie" rubs 'em the wrong way.

3. Bashing "X" cause its the "In" thing to do 'prolly plays a part in it.  Herd behavior sorta thing.

I've encountered the same sort of derision directed at my faith from time to time.