Author Topic: Was slavery really a motive?  (Read 5226 times)

atimetobuild

Was slavery really a motive?
« on: January 25, 2007, 07:12:49 PM »
I was invited to take this discussion over here, so here I am.  Let us see if we enjoy it.  I also posted a similar thread called The Consent of the Governed a moment ago, found here: http://www.armedpolitesociety.com/index.php?topic=5786.0

I am still surprised by how many people, even on gun boards- (even among supporters of the South!) still believe that the war had anything to do with slavery.  Please- I can take all the time in the world and have you not believe me- please read Abe Lincoln's Inaugural Address and Jefferson Davis' Inaugural Address.  Don't you think that if the war was about slavery someone would have at least brought the topic up??  I mean, slavery was not a taboo topic.  It was an accepted institution (albeit not one that was approved of by all).  No, I am not a proponent of slavery, but it was common throughout the world a couple hundred years ago.  No country on earth has ever fought a war to end it, yet it has died (virtually) everywhere.  It should not take any historical proof to realize this, my friends.  A few thoughts to consider:

• A mere 20th of land owners had slaves.  Slaves and their care were expensive.  Most farm were hand-to-mouth, just as most households are today.