Author Topic: I need some income  (Read 7212 times)

Paddy

I need some income
« on: September 25, 2007, 09:32:03 PM »
I've been off work for over two years now.  My parents both died early 2005. I spent a year dealing with estate and probate issues, then I got sick, which lasted for another year.  I'm all better now, and have absolutely nothing to do.   In my previous life, I was a corporate accountant and asset manager.  Before that, I freelanced, serving in capacities from interim controller to seasonal tax preparer.   I have a BS in Business Administration with a major iin Accounting from a California State University, back in the '70's.

I have a Real Estate license, which I've used in the past to sell houses and mortgage loans, and manage rental properties.  Also have a license to sell insurance (Life Agent only) which I've never used.

Nobody will hire me because of my age (61) and my previous history of cancer.  I have no intention of drawing social security next year at age 62.  I fully intend to remain active and productive until some disability overtakes me.  I pay my own health insurance premiums, and have no debt.

What can I do to generate some income?  I'm willing to invest up to 50k, maybe more, depending on the opportunity, and will reward a successful idea with cash.

Thanks for your help.

Euclidean

• friend
Re: I need some income
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2007, 12:44:05 AM »
Riles I hate to say it but are you willing to relocate?  Might be necessary to expand the job search.  Also food for thought, I don't know what part of Kommieforny are you in and do you happen to be so lucky as to own a house?  A lot of folks from the SoCal and Mass areas could make a killing selling their $300k homes and buying that same house for $165k basically anywhere else in the country and pocketing the difference.