Author Topic: Carbon copy  (Read 1197 times)

WLJ

• friends
  • On Patrol In The Epsilon Eridani System
Re: Carbon copy
« Reply #25 on: February 21, 2023, 12:13:01 PM »
Carbon paper was discontinued because it's carbon and is a major cause of globular wormoning. :P :O [tinfoil] :old:

And now a word from Al Gore

"Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe is that none of it has tried to contact us".
- Calvin and Hobbes

castle key

• friend
« Reply #26 on: February 21, 2023, 01:57:33 PM »
I'm a retired police officer. I cut my teeth in the "old school" and retired just before the "defund" stuff grew legs.

Early career, in DC, one place I worked, the prosecution report, the infamous PD 163, known informally as the "Dingbat" demanded six copies. The original had to be original front and back.

These Dingbats had carbon paper between sheets. The drill was tear, don't flip, slide aside, flip carbon paper, place on stack.

Really long reports almost always revealed a failure to flip or slide when needed and since the front original didn't include a back original, the Selectric had to be reloaded and the report restarted.

We made progress with computers, but needed the huge floppy disc to be inserted with the form filler program.
Vigilate hoc, tenendum per ebrietatem.

MechAg94

• friend
« Reply #27 on: February 21, 2023, 02:09:57 PM »
The waste manifest sheets have from the local landfill company are "carbon copy" documents with the dot matrix paper strips on the sides that you can tear off.  They don't use an old style carbon sheet, but it is the coating on the back of the sheets.  Since about 4 different people including us have to keep a copy of the paperwork, that is the easiest way to make sure copies are retained. 

Anything more than normal office waste has to have a waste manifest.  My site doesn't normally have anything more than scrap wood or filters. 

I haven't heard of "courtesy copy" either.