Author Topic: Annoying computer glitch  (Read 809 times)

Hawkmoon

• friend
Annoying computer glitch
« on: July 23, 2018, 11:34:47 PM »
Windows 7, Firefox ESR 52.xx

I play a video in Youtube. If I stop the play just before it gets to the end, and back out of full-screen mode, there's a menu of other videos down the right side of the screen. I click one of those to watch next. The screen changes, and displays the new video title below the view window -- but the video in the window is still the one I already watched.

If I click reload, I then get the newly-selected video and I can watch it.

This just started happening a couple of weeks ago. How can I fix it so that when I select a video, that's what I get?
- - - - - - - - - - - - -
100% Politically Incorrect by Design

Phantom Warrior

• friend
Re: Annoying computer glitch
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2018, 02:46:33 PM »
Why are you using ESR?  And why version 52?  I'm not an expert on Firefox ESR.  But I've spent enough time working on old computers that I'm inclined to guess this is an old browser issue.  Especially since ESR 52 is meant for XP and Vista.

I can't give you an authoritative answer on why this is happening.  But I would recommend either updating to ESR 60, installing normal Firefox, or installing another browser like Google Chrome.  I'm running Firefox 61.0.1 on Windows 7 and I don't experience the issue you are having.

One last thought, have you rebooted your computer?  Sometimes people just put it to sleep and let it go for weeks without rebooting.  A reboot might fix the issue.

Hawkmoon

• friend
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2018, 07:30:49 PM »
I'm using the ESR channel because the regular channel gets updated far too often. And I'm on version 52.xx because the newer versions don't play well with my add-ons. It's not a version 52 issue -- I've been on 52 for a long time, and this only started happening a couple of weeks ago.

Phantom Warrior

• friend
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2018, 02:11:53 PM »