Author Topic: I just want to whine... life is so unfair... advice?  (Read 14288 times)

Kyle

I just want to whine... life is so unfair... advice?
« on: May 19, 2009, 10:28:29 PM »
So, I graduated from college last week. Hooray! However, I have a problem.

All throughout my college career, I have known this girl. I have always had a thing for her, and we have hung out on and off. After knowing her and being "just friends" for a couple years, I realized that I am desperately in love with this woman. In the last couple of weeks, however, we have really connected on a romantic level and we see each other every day. She has admitted that she is in love with me too.

She comes over every day after she gets off work. I make her dinner and afterwards we cuddle in bed (PG-13 stuff only) and talk for hours until she has to go home. See, she lives with her parents. And she is Muslim. And her family is REALLY Muslim. REALLY traditional. They are some big-shot super-rich Palestinian family. And if she were ever caught with me, she would be in a bit of trouble to say the least. For ruining her family name, etc.

This is a problem. We want to be together, but we can't. She is really loyal to her family, and that is one of the reasons I respect her. I love her for it. So I would never ask her to give them the finger for me, because that would destroy part of the reason I love her.

There is no reasoning with the situation. In Islam, and in her family, men can date/marry women of any religion. But women can only marry Muslim men (the assumption is that the children will follow the religion of the father). And converting to Islam is not an option for me.

The other thing is, I am moving in a couple weeks. Not very far, but given her family situation, it is unlikely that I will see her much anymore, if ever again.